Department of Architecture

The young and dynamic KAHE that we are our need to increase the quality of Architectural education and also open up our perspective to global trends has continuously increased.

Established in 2009 with an intake of 40 students for the B.Arch program, we have raised our own bar and introduced M.Arch with continual admissions of more than 15 students per year. We have now introduced Masters in Planning and are again reaching the progress line in bringing out the best as well.

15 – YEAR VISION

The faculty of Architecture, Karpagam Academy of Higher Education aims its energies to make it a University that is renowned in its peer circle and sets a target to make each and every student capable of facing the global markets. We aim to send every student as a compulsory programme for an exchange to different affluent countries based on the student’s affordability. We will then bring out collaboration between all the mentioned (NABA – Milan, ISAD Communicazone – Milan, University of Bath – London, University of New Castle, SUMAS Switzerland, NSAD – San Diego United States of America, Sci Arc – California USA) Universities and makes it a sharing of knowledge process. We also aim to have a tie up with Universities stretching from the far South East to the West spreading from Australian Universities to the University in United States.

We also intend to strengthen our faculty with faculty exchange programs and bringing in faculties from other esteemed Universities for our guest lecture system.

In the span of about 15 years the Faculty of Architecture, Karpagam Academy of Higher Education will be on par with RIBA certified Universities like AAA – London, Boston University and other such contemporaries. We aim to stand tall as one of the best universities in India and also secure a standing at all the International Universities.

The need of such centre of excellence in Architecture exemplifies the need for a global outlook and we aim at achieving the same.

We at Karpagam Academy of Higher Education are determined to lead and demonstrate excellence through creative understanding of Architecture. We realize that his requires dedicated hard work and team effort to all stake holders.

We at Karpagam Academy of Higher Education are ready to strive, to achieve this vision.

7 – YEAR STRATEGIC PLAN

Our medium term plan strategizes on strengthening learning techniques and quality through live research projects such as BInUCom. Such projects provides a platform to connect at the international levels with international faculties which encourages the students with a holistic broad spectrum about the challenges of the world. Research projects as such boost the theoretically bound education systems with practical analytics that form a part of a profound solution.

Along with collaborative approaches in our research projects, we nurture student exchange facilities with the intent of encouraging a pragmatic outlook amongst native students as well as creating a well versed basis for foreign students in understanding the contextual nuances of our vibrant setting.

3 – YEAR ACTION PLAN

Stretching ourselves into the vision of 3 years action plan, we are inviting a set of students from the University of BATH and University of New Castle to our University to attend classes with our faculties. We will in turn be sending interested students to that University for the exchange purpose.

Our research projects success can be gesticulated with the happenings of the BInUCom Research project under the ERASMUS funding. We intend to take many more such research projects which can put us on the altar of research options available for students.

Our Vision to make a global presence exemplifies with our activities that are chalked out for the next three years. We have now established connections far and wide into the European countries and the United States of America.

We have now arranged for an international workshop in Italy with the following Universities, Domus Academy, NABA in Milan have invited a set of 20 students to their esteemed university for an interaction with the faculty and students. They will also set a problem of design and help us find solution for the same.

The ISAD communicazone is another University which has also offered to conduct a workshop with regards to the different types of Interior design studies of which an extremely new subject to the Indian subcontinent is the Yatch design subject. The very welcoming response has been an overwhelming experience for the Faculty of Architecture, Karpagam Academy of Higher Education.

The American subcontinent has always been a lucrative global move out for most students in India. We have been on continuous talks to sign a MoU with New School of Architecture and design (NSAD) and Southern California University of Architecture (SCI – ARC). These Universities have been kind enough to accept our proposal for an exchange programme in the Universities for our Architectural students.

Programmes
  1. Under Graduate Programmes
    • B.Arch – Bachelor of Architecture
    • B.Des Interior Design – Bachelor of Design
  2. Post Graduate Programmes
    • M.Arch – Advanced Design
    • M.Plan – Town and Country Planning

     

Syllabus and Curriculum
Name Qualification Designation Email ID
Ar.P.Kathiravan B.Arch., M.Tech., (Ph.D.) Professor kathiravanarch@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.Paul Varghese M.Arch., M.S., Ph.D. Professor paul.v@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.P.Arun Prasath M.E. Professor arun.k@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.P.Sasikumar M.T.P., B.E., (Ph.D.) Professor sasi.p@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.V.Balakrishnaa M.T.P. Professor balakrishnaa.v@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.Bhuvanasundar MBEM. Professor bhuvana.s@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.Anjaneysh M.Arch. Professor anjaneysh@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.M.R.Ramakrishnamoorthy M.Plan (Housing) Professor ramakrishna.mr@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.M.Madhan M.Sc., (ID) Professor madhan.m@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.N.Senthilkumar M.Benv. Professor senthilkuamr.n@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.B.Vijayakumar M.Arch. Professor vijayakumar.b@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.C.Vimal M.Arch. Associate Professor vimal.c@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.Ranjitha Somesh B.Arch. Associate Professor ranjitha@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.G.Lingeshwaran M.Arch. Associate Professor lingeshwaran.g@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.S.Shivachandran M.Arch. Associate Professor shivachandranarch@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.R.Sankar M.Arch. Associate Professor
Ar.M.Ramesh M.Arch. Associate Professor ramesh.m@kahedu.edu.in
Mr.J.Panneerselvam M.F.A. Assistant Professor panneer.j@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.Aakash Ashok Bafna B.Arch. Assistant Professor aakash.a@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.Rishab Yogesh Sharma M.Sc. Assistant Professor rishab.y@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.A.Issac M.Arch. Assistant Professor issac.a@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.R.Karthick M.Arch. Assistant Professor karthick.r@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.S.SivaRam B.Arch. Assistant Professor sivaram.s@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.R.Kabilan B.Arch. Assistant Professor kabilan.r@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.D.Karthikeyan B.F.A. Assistant Professor karthikeyan@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.V.Karthick M.Arch. Assistant Professor karthick.v@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.S.Athira M.Des. Assistant Professor athira.s@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.D.Koushik B.Arch. Assistant Professor
Ar.R.Cherie Sandra M.Arch. Assistant Professor cheriesandra.r@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.V.Janani M.IMIAD. Assistant Professor janani.t@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.K.P.Rajkumar B.Arch. Assistant Professor rajkumar.kp@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.S.Irfan Qureishi B.Arch. Assistant Professor irfan.s@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.G.Jayanandhini M.Plan. Assistant Professor jayanandini.g@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.M.J.Abitha B.Arch. Assistant Professor abitha.mj@kahedu.edu.in
Ar.G.Arshia B.Arch. Assistant Professor arshia.g@kahedu.edu.in

Infrastructure

  • Staff room – 3
  • Class room – 14
  • Laboratories – 3

 

Photos

Name of the Faculty Title of the Paper Year
Ar. M.R.Ramakrishnamoorthy Applications of Smart materials
Proceedings of the National Conference “Recent advances in Civil Engineering Research”, Karpagam Academy of Higher Education, Coimbatore.
2011
Disaster Management – “Management Scenarios for Effective Implementation and Rehabilitation”
Proceedings of the Conference “Progressive Architecture”, SRM University, Kancheeppuram.
2012

Workshop

Painting Workshop (II and III – B.Arch & B.Des Students)
Date    : 18th June 2018 to 23rd June 2018
Venue : FOA Courtyard